# BOARD SUMMARY OPEN AND CLOSED SESSIONS FEBRUARY 14, 2024

## **OPEN SESSION**

Mitch Espy, President of the Marshfield Board of Education, called the regular Open Session Meeting to order at 6:45 pm on Thursday, February 14, 2024. Members present: Janette Clark, Jeremy Devoto, Mitch Espy, Josh Hartman, Mark Messick, Craig Thomas and Amy Wilkerson. Members absent: none

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mitch Espy.

The Board recited the District Purpose Statement.

Janette Clark made a motion to approve the Agenda as amended. Amy Wilkerson seconded and carried with vote 7-0. (New Business items A - SRO Update, and E - Approve Safe Room Turf Proposal).

**Board Spotlight:** 

**Health Services** 

Public comments addressing the agenda:

There were no public comments addressing the agenda

#### **Executive Leadership Reports:**

- Superintendent's Report Mr. Mike Henry
- Assistant Superintendent Report: Academics Dr. Garrett Lowder
- Assistant Superintendent Report: Operations Mr. Josh Hume

## <u>Informational Items and Reports:</u>

- Treasurer's Report
- School News
- Enrollment
- Other Reports:
  - Homeless Report
  - Special Education
  - o ECSE
  - Community Partnerships

Josh Hartman stepped out of the meeting at 7:43 pm.

# Consent Agenda

Mark Messick made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. Consent agenda items: Approval and acceptance of Informational Items and Reports; Accounts Payable, 01/19/2024 through 02/14/2024; Minutes, 01/18/2024, Open and Closed Sessions, 02/07/2024 Closed Session; Surplus Property. Jeremy Devoto seconded and motion carried with vote 6-0.

Board Summary, Open and Closed Sessions, February 14, 2024

Josh Hartman returned at 7:46 pm.

## **Unfinished Business**

Mr. Hume presented a Bond Projects update.

## **New Business**

Mr. Henry presented a budget update.

Josh Hartman made a motion to approve the PAT Stipends, as presented. Jeremy Devoto seconded and motion carried with vote 7-0.

Craig Thomas made a motion to approve the OPAA! Contract Renewal, as presented. Mark Messick seconded and motion carried with vote 7-0.

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to approve the <u>Safe Room Turf Proposal</u>, as presented. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with vote 7-0.

Janette Clark made the motion to adjourn the Open Session meeting at 8:10 pm. Amy Wilkerson seconded and carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Hartman, Messick, Espy, Thomas, Wilkerson).

## **CLOSED SESSION**

Mitch Espy, President of the Marshfield Board of Education, called the Closed Session Meeting to order at 8:17 pm on Wednesday, February 14, 2024. Members present: Janette Clark, Jeremy Devoto, Mitch Espy, Josh Hartman, Mark Messick, Craig Thomas and Amy Wilkerson. Members absent: none

Josh Hartman made a motion to approve <u>Employment Changes</u> as presented. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy for Jeff Curley, HS Principal, with a two-year contract extending through the 2025-2026 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Rebecca Weigand, Shook Principal, with a two-year contract extending through the 2025-2026 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Curt White, Webster Principal, with a two-year contract extending through the 2025-2026 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Missy Basnett, Hubble Principal, with a two-year contract extending through the 2025-2026 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Nicki Thompson, HS Assistant Principal, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Brad Hurley, HS Assistant Principal, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Taylor Young, Shook Assistant Principal, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Natasha Adams, Webster Assistant Principal, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with vote roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Sara Reynolds, Hubble Assistant Principal, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Anthony Blackwell, Transportation Coordinator, at 260 days, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reemploy Ronda Hubbard, Director Athletics, for the 2024-2025 school year. Josh Hartman seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Mark Messick made a motion to change Head Principal contracts from 12-month to 11-month contracts. Jeremy Devoto seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to reject the request as presented. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 6-0-1 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Wilkerson. Craig Thomas abstained as he is related to the proposer).

Mark Messick made the motion to adjourn the Closed Session meeting at 8:50 pm. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).